Daily Archives: August 14, 2014


St. Louis All-Half-Century Team

Top Row: Marty Marion, George Sisler, Jesse Haines, Johnny Tobin, Second Row: Rogers Hornsby, Dizzy Dean, Grover Cleveland Alexander, Stan Musial, Third Row: Hank Severeid, Bob O’Farrell, Urban Shocker, Ken Williams, Bottom Row: Terry Moore, Frankie Frisch, Red Schoendienst The St. Louis Half-Century Team was selected from National League Cardinals, American League Browns and Federal


All-Time Busch Stadium II Team

On a glorious October, 2005 fall afternoon in St. Louis, the Cardinals hosted a pre-game ceremony to announce the All-Time Busch Stadium II team. The day capped a season-long fan vote to commemorate the best / favorite players of the last 40 years in the “New” cathedral of St. Louis baseball. The team represented a


St. Louis Hall of Fame Writers

J.G. Taylor Spink Award The J.G. Taylor Spink Award, named after the late editor of The Sporting News, was first voted in 1962 when Spink himself was the recipient of the inaugural honor. The award honors a baseball writer (or writers) “for meritorious contributions to baseball writing” and is presented during Hall of Fame Weekend

Copyright © 2014-2019 St. Louis Baseball Writers' Association Foundation All Rights Reserved.