All-Time Busch Stadium II Team


On a glorious October, 2005 fall afternoon in St. Louis, the Cardinals hosted a pre-game ceremony to announce the All-Time Busch Stadium II team. The day capped a season-long fan vote to commemorate the best / favorite players of the last 40 years in the “New” cathedral of St. Louis baseball.

The team represented a solid balance of Hall of Famers and future Hall of Famers from the three dominant era’s of Cardinals baseball played in this stadium: the late 60’s, the 80’s and early 2000’s.

The fun and excitement of the day carried the home team to a 9-6 victory over the visiting Cincinnati Reds. Nearly 50,000 fans were in attendance to see Albert Pujols hit his 41st home run and Larry Walker hit two home runs (14, 15). Randy Flores (3-1) picked up the win and Jason Isringhausen picked up his 38th save.

All-Time Busch Stadium II Team

Saturday, October 1, 2005

Position Honoree Finalists
Manager *# Whitey Herzog *# LaRussa, *# Schoendienst
Starting Pitcher *# Bob Gibson Morris, # Forsch, Tudor & Andujar
Catcher # Ted Simmons Matheny, # McCarver, Porter, Pagnozzi
First Base Albert Pujols Hernandez, Cepeda, # McGwire & Clark
Second Base Tommy Herr Vina, Sizemore & Javier
Shortstop *# Ozzie Smith Renteria, Templeton & Maxvill
Third Base Scott Rolen Pendleton, *# Torre
Left Field *# Lou Brock # Coleman, Gilkey, Smith
Center Field # Jim Edmonds # Flood, # Lankford, # McGee
Right Field *# Roger Maris Hendrick, Jordan, Van Slyke
Relief Pitcher *# Bruce Sutter Hrabosky, Smith, Isringhausen & Worrell
Utility IF Jose Oquendo

* – Elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame
# – Elected to the Cardinals Hall of Fame

Forty Years of Busch Stadium II Memories

Copyright © 2014-2019 St. Louis Baseball Writers' Association Foundation All Rights Reserved.