St. Louis BBWAA 60th-Anniversary Cardinals of the Decade

The 2018 St. Louis Baseball Writers’ Dinner was the 60th-Anniversary benefit event. To commemorate the ‘diamond anniversary,’ the St. Louis BBWAA Chapter named the Cardinals of the Decade for each decade they have produced the St. Louis Baseball Writers’ Dinner.

Decade Cardinals of the Decade BBWAA Members of Note
1950s Red Schoendienst J. Roy Stockton, John E. Wray (Post-Dispatch), Ellis Veach (East St. Louis Journal), Harry Mitauer (Globe-Democrat)
1960s Bob Gibson, Joe Torre, Mike Shannon, Tim McCarver Bob Broeg, Neil Russo, Amadee (Post-Dispatch), Bob Burnes (Globe-Democrat)
1970s Ted Simmons,  Lou Brock, Keith Hernandez Dick Kaegel, Ed Wilks (Post-Dispatch), Jack Herman, Dick Wagner (Globe-Democrat)
1980s Whitey Herzog, Ozzie Smith,  Bruce Sutter, Willie McGee Rick Hummel, Kevin Horrigan, Tom Wheatley, Mike Smith (Post-Dispatch), Joe Ostermeier (Belleville News-Democrat), Rob Rains, Myron Holtzman (Globe-Democrat), Paul Lebar (AP)
1990s Mark McGwire, Ray Lankford, Tony La Russa Mike Eisenbath, Dan O’Neill (Post-Dispatch), David Wilhelm (Belleville News-Democrat), Warren Mayes (Alton Telegraph)
2000s Albert Pujols, Scott Rolen,  Jim Edmonds,  Jason Isringhausen, David Eckstein Bernie Miklasz, Bryan Burwell, Joe Strauss (Post-Dispatch), R.B. Fallstrom (AP)
2010s Adam Wainwright, Chris Carpenter, David Freese, Yadier Molina Derrick Goold, Ben Frederickson, Ben Hochman, Jose De Jesus Ortiz (Post-Dispatch), Jenifer Langosch (

'St. Louis BBWAA 60th-Anniversary Cardinals of the Decade' has no comments

Be the first to comment this post!

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright © 2014-2019 St. Louis Baseball Writers' Association Foundation All Rights Reserved.